Is Velveeta Cheese Lactose-Free (Best Answer)

Velveeta cheese is a famous brand of processed cheese products with a soft, springy consistency, mild flavor, and distinctive orange color. Velveeta contains cheddar cheese, which can melt smoothly without separating or clumping.

So, is Velveeta cheese lactose-free? The answer is no; Velveeta cheese is not lactose-free; it contains a lot of lactose like skim milk, milk, and protein concentrate. Also, Velveeta cheese contains whey protein concentrate, whey, milkfat, and chees culture. 

Come along for more details on is Velveeta cheese lactose-free.

What Is Velveeta Cheese

Velveeta is a cheese product made by the Kraft Foods company; it was first invented in early 1900s and became popular in the 1930s. Velveeta does not contain natural Cheese; it is a blend of Cheese, other dairy products, and emulsifying salts.

Also, Velveeta cheese is a shelf-stable product made from whey, milk protein concentrate, milk, canola oil, and cheese culture. It also has a smooth consistency, mild taste, and vivid orange hue. Velveeta’s remarkable ability to melt makes it an excellent base for dips.

Is Velveeta cheese lactose-free

Is Velveeta cheese lactose-free? is a most asked question, especially for lactose intolerant individuals. However, Velveeta contains lactose but is low quality; the main ingredients in Velveeta include skim milk, whey, milk, milk protein concentrate, whey protein concentrate, milkfat, and chees culture.

Also, Velveeta contains 9.3% average lactose. As a reference, dairy products with around 2% lactose or less can be tolerated by many individuals who are lactose intolerant. So, Velveeta having 9.3% lactose puts lactose content at the higher end for Cheese and other dairy products.

Meanwhile, Velveeta may not be tolerated well by those who have lactose intolerance. The only way to know if you can tolerate Velveeta is by trying it, but individuals with lactose intolerance should go for lactose-free or vegan Cheese.

What Is Lactose

Lactose can also be called “milk sugar” because it is only found naturally in the milk of mammals, including cows, goats, and humans. Milk from cows and goats is used to make Cheese and yogurt ice cream, but not all milk products contain the same amount of lactose.

Some people are more lactose intolerant than others; it depends on how much lactase your body can make. 

What Cheese Is Lactose-Free

When considering lactose percentages, lactose-intolerant individuals will want to stick to cheeses without lactose or low-lactose range cheese like Muenster, Camembert, Brie, Cheddar, Provolone, Gouda, Parmesan, and Swiss Cheese.

Any cheese with a high lactose range should be avoided, even in moderation.

Cheese To Avoid If You Are Lactose Intolerance

Cheese like feta, ricotta, Colby, American, and Velveeta Cheese is the worst for lactose intolerant individuals.

Is Velveeta Cheese Real Cheese

Originally Velveeta was made from real Cheese. Today, it’s mainly whey protein concentrate, milk protein concentrate, milk, fat, and preservatives. By the Food and Drug Administration’s standards, that’s not real Cheese, so Kraft has to change its label from “cheese spread” to “cheese product.

What Cheese Are Velveeta Substitutes

1. American Cheese

American cheese is a good Velveeta alternative. Just like Velveeta, is a processed Cheese that comes from cheddar whey, milk, milk fats, Colby cheese most often. Kraft also produces American Cheese, but you can find it made by other brands. 

2. Cheddar Cheese

Cheddar Cheese has a similar taste to Velveeta cheese. Whether using sharp cheddar cheese, mild, or any other type, Cheddar is a suitable replacement for regular Velveeta. Also, shredded cheddar cheese is a beautiful alternative to shredded Velveeta.

Also, Cheddar has an orange or yellow color, just like Velveeta.

3. Swiss Cheese

Swiss is a good substitute for Velveeta because it is a versatile cheese. It melts well and it can be sliced and add in a sandwich, or be eaten with toasty bread. 

4. Gouda Cheese

Gouda is a Dutch cheese that comes from cow’s milk, and it has a lovely rich taste. Although Gouda has a nuttier flavor than Velveeta, but still taste great in any recipe that calls for Velveeta. However, If you are using aged Gouda cheese, it is vital to reduce the amount of the substitute in your recipe.

5. Cheez Whiz

Cheez Whiz is another processed cheese option you can use to replace Velveeta. It has the same creamy texture when melted just like Velveeta. Cheez Whiz is perfect for dips, sauces, soups, sandwiches, creamy desserts, and snacks.

Does Velveeta Taste Like Cheese?

Velveeta and cheese have the same look and taste, but it is classified as a “pasteurized process cheese product.

Does Velveeta Need To Be Refrigerated?

Unopened packages of Velveeta are shelf-stable and must be stored in a cool, dry place. Opened packages must be wrapped tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerated. For the best results, use it within eight weeks after opening.

Conclusion

Lactose is sugar found in milk and other dairy products. However, some individuals are lactose intolerant and might want to know if Velveeta is lactose-free; know that Velveeta has 9.3% lactose, which is high.

Therefore, if your body can not tolerate lactose, Velveeta is a cheese you should avoid, but if you can, feel free to use it as it is beautiful.

Related Posts.

Leave a Comment